October’s Best New Romance Books Include Second Chances and Holiday Cheer (Popsugar)

News

Ready for a little romance? Popsugar has you covered with a list of lovely books will leave you swooning as you root for a bevy of captivating characters to realise they’re perfect for one another, including A Holly Jolly Diwali.

“The ever practical Niki Randhawa finds an awfully handsome reason to throw caution to the wind in A Holly Jolly Diwali by Sonya Lalli. While attending her friend’s wedding in Mumbai, Niki meets a man who encourages her to embrace her creative side, but her new romance is threatened when a job offer back home leaves her torn between listening to her heart or doing what she feels is best for her family.”

You can see the full list on Popsugar here.

The best new rom-com reads to get us through the rest of 2021 (USA Today)

News

USA TODAY staffers culled through the fall and holiday book releases and picked 12 of their favourite rom-coms “that are sure to envelop you in a warm embrace”, including A Holly Jolly Diwali.

Here’s what they had to say about the book:

“Author Lalli’s prose is deft, her characters are delightful and her book is the just-right holiday romance.”

You can read the full review, and the rest of the books on this great list on the USA Today website.

Colorful and sparkling clay diya lamps lit for the Hindu Diwali festival.

What Is Diwali? The History Behind the Important Holiday

News

My next book, A Holly Jolly Diwali, focuses on the widely celebrate festival of Diwali. I recently spoke with Good Housekeeping on what this holiday means to me.

“Diwali can mean so many things to so many people, but at its core, for me it’s about celebrating the light in this world over the darkness, being with the people I love.”

To read the full article, which includes a great summary on the traditions, celebrations and customs of the Festival of Lights for those who aren’t that familiar with it, click here.

Sonya Lalli with her books

Women in minority backgrounds in romance novels

News

I recently spoke with the Richmond News about the universal themes in my novels, the expectations that South Asian women, and women of minority backgrounds, face growing up and my new role as Richmond’s newest Writer-in-Residence.

“Often women from minority backgrounds have to make hard choices.”

“(Women) are often burdened by these expectations, cultural baggage, sexism and many obstacles that hinder us from becoming our best selves or true selves, and going after what we really want, loving who we really want and that kind of thing.”

You can read the full article on The Richmond News website here.

A Holly Jolly Diwali by Sonya Lalli

A Holly Jolly Diwali gets a starred review from Booklist!

News

I’m so thrilled to share the news that A Holly Jolly Diwali has received a starred review from Booklist. The review will be in the Booklist September 15 issue.

The reviewer writes, “Funny and heartwarming, with lush descriptions of Indian beach resorts and chaotic city streets, Lalli’s latest multicultural romance is extremely satisfying; her characters are refreshingly relatable. Highly recommended for fans of Sonali Dev and Sophie Kinsella.”

A Holly Jolly Diwali by Sonya Lalli

A Holly Jolly Diwali – Library Journal review

News

This excerpt is from a review of my upcoming book, A Holly Jolly Diwali, from Library Journal which will be featured in their September 2021 issue!

“In the latest from Lalli, Niki Randhawa decides to attend a friend’s wedding in India after she is laid off from her job unexpectedly. While there she meets Sam Mukherji, whose life isn’t going according to plan either, and they form a connection. However, her life is back in Seattle, and his is in London, so they must decide what matters to them most. A major part of the story is Niki’s relationship with her family and her sibling rivalry with older sister Jasmine; she questions whether she wants to always be the practical and dutiful one. There’s some discussion of colonialism and colorism and one scene of street harassment, but it’s a light read overall. VERDICT Suggest to readers looking for holiday fun along with their romance.” ~Sydney Ashby, Metropolitan Lib. Sys., Oklahoma City

A Holly Jolly Diwali audiobook

A Holly Jolly Diwali audiobook is now available for pre-order!

News
A Holly Jolly Diwali audiobook

A Holly Jolly Diwali is now available in audiobook!

I’m very excited to share the news that the audiobook for my next book, A Holly Jolly Diwali, is now available for pre-order and will be narrated by the very talented Richa Moorjani!

Richa Moorjani is an Indian-American actress who has appeared on TV shows like The Mindy Project, NCIS: Los Angeles and 9-1-1. She is currently starring in the Netflix series, Never Have I Ever.

For more information on the audiobook of A Holly Jolly Diwali, including where you can order, please click here.

Richa Moorjani photo courtesy of: Sweet Caribbean Photo and Video